Someday…maybe

There is a mythical man that exists for every single christian woman that I know. He’s dashing, and heroic, and always a perfect gentleman. The lore states that someday, he will enter into our lives and sweep us off of our feet. We will swoon in his presence and fall deeply in love with him. Then we will ride off into the sunset and make babies and live happily ever after.

This sounds ridiculous, and far too good to be true, but we take the bait and wait patiently (sometimes) for this creature to appear, and we longingly call him the future husband. We look to every married christian woman we know and point to their life as irrefutable proof that this man exists. These women confirm the suspicion and keep pumping us full of hope until the day he finally arrives.

But what if that day never comes? What if he really is just a myth for us? I find myself wondering this more often than not. It’s not that I’m a pessimist, and it’s not that I don’t believe that this could happen. I just wonder if it ever will.

This isn’t so much a question of hopes deferred, as it is a call to self examination. What am I actually hoping for, and how is it shaping my life in the meantime? Has my current reality become dependent on a person that may not actually exist? What does that say about me?

I say no more. I don’t want to sit in this ivory tower waiting to be rescued. And what exactly am I to be rescued from anyway? Is my life not complete without Mr. Future? The ‘one’? I’m calling the bluff here.

This is what I know to be true. I am a child of the living God. As his daughter, I am protected, provided for, and cherished beyond measure. I have access to the entire kingdom because of my Jesus. So why am I waiting for a prince, when I’m already royalty?

Today, I say I am enough. I say I have a greater hope, and that is in my king. I will not wile away my days looking to what is not promised. Instead I will grasp the treasures I already have. I have worth in my own right, and it is not dependent on any person, future or otherwise.

Sisters! If you’re in this boat with me, let’s rock it. It’s time to shake off the assumption that something better is coming. Better is already here. We have Jesus, and he has us! What more could we possibly need?

Goodbye mythical man. If you do manifest into my reality someday, you can come alongside me in the kingdom. Don’t go thinking you can rescue me though, that job was done long ago. The heart of this princess has already been won, and NOBODY trumps the king.

 

Leave a Reply

