Drive 2.0

I’ve been asked some intriguing questions in response to Drive. This is a follow up to address the one that’s been asked the most.

How do you masturbate without fantasizing about anything?

This single question speaks volumes to me. It reveals the character of the one asking. When I hear this, I can see that person’s heart. She wants to honor God, but she feels powerless. She wants to be free of the thoughts that plague her, but she doesn’t believe it’s possible.

I’ve been there. I’m here to tell you there is hope. You don’t have to stay there.

The answer for you lies in your faith. This is an affliction, just like any other ailment. You have a sickness in your mind that is causing you to turn to sin. I have a question for you, well, actually Jesus has a question for you.

“When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?” John 5:6 NIV

The truth is that healing requires effort. It’s not enough to just say that you want to be better. You have to actually put that faith into action. You have to make your thoughts subject to God. Take hold of them and make them obey God. It’s a process of continually yielding your mind to God, and asking Him to make you clean.

I’m not gonna lie. It’s hard. It took months of me abstaining from masturbation altogether before I was able to get through a day without serious lusting. I spent hours lying on my face on the floor crying out to God to make the fantasies stop.A lot of the crying was from sheer frustration. I wanted release, but I wanted to be pleasing to him more. It really was a war between flesh and spirit.

A lot of begging, and pleading, and denying myself had to happen. It was a fierce uphill battle, but God was fighting it for me. I had to learn how to sit still and let him work.

I’m a very stubborn person. Perhaps the journey to clean thinking won’t be so arduous for you. I pray that it isn’t. Just remember that anything worth having is worth working for.

Be free sisters! Allow God to come into your mind and make it clean. Give him unrestricted access to every thought, and don’t be embarrassed to let him see what you see. You can’t shock him. He’s seen it already.

This is what I call being truly naked and unashamed before the LORD. Let him take a trip through your head and clean house. You won’t regret it, not in the end anyway. Real talk, it might suck for awhile, but it’s totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

