That’s My Dad

I’m in a period of great transition in my life. Being a stubborn individual, this never seems to go over too well. As things start shifting and moving around me, I tend to dig in my heels and try as hard as I can to remain in place.

If life were a static fixture, I would always be happy. I could analyze everything at length and figure out what makes it tick. I would know every detail about every matter of existence. I would have all the answers.

Too bad it doesn’t work this way.

When the world around me falls into apparent disarray, I start to freak out. My stress levels begin to rise and I panic. I resist all change as though it will mortally wound me, and I behave irrationally because everything feels threatening. I should probably do some sort of therapy, but what single woman has time for that after she has to work for a living? Furthermore, what single woman can afford that?

Lucky for me, I have someone that can help to ease the transitions and make them more bearable. He doesn’t stop the changes from happening, but he walks with me through them. He offers counsel on how to make the big decisions, and he gives me the ability to focus on all the small decisions that need to be made in between.

He’s my dad. He’s amazing. He is God.

Recently, I was feeling dreadfully overwhelmed. I found myself asking God if He was even going to be there when I got to the place that He is taking me to. Don’t judge me, I know it’s irrational to ask, but that question was burning in my heart and echoing in my soul. I was afraid, and I had doubts that needed serious reassurance.

Not only did He answer me quickly, but He gave me much more than a simple answer. He pulled me into His presence and He whispered a truth to me. He said I will be there. I will be waiting for you when you get there. I’m going before you to prepare the way for you. I will be with you every step of the way. I will never leave you.

Whoa.

For someone with lingering abandonment issues, this is HUGE. I can read in scripture all day long about God being with us. It’s His very name, Emmanuel. It’s another thing entirely to have that whispered into the depths of my pain and doubt and fear.

That’s my Dad! This is what He does because He is good. He is kind, and He is patient with me. He doesn’t keep charging forward when I stop walking on the path He laid before me. He doesn’t get impatient with me when I pause to take a break. Even better, He doesn’t ignore me when I’m behaving like a toddler and having a fit because I’m frustrated and I don’t understand what’s happening in the world around me.

When I stop moving, He waits in that place with me. He doesn’t pressure me to get up and push on when I’m not ready. He doesn’t impatiently tap His foot and cross His arms in exasperation because I’m not moving at His pace.

He stays with me no matter what. That’s what Emmanuel means. God with us. No matter what.

He’s with you. Even better, He’s glad to be with you. Wherever you are. Whatever you’re doing. He delights in you. You’re His baby girl! Remember this truth, and allow it to refashion your perception of our Dad.

Isn’t He awesome?

 

Leave a Reply

