Beautiful Lies

I’m a bathroom reader. That means when I’m in the shower, or brushing my teeth, or washing my hands, or sitting on the toilet, I’m reading. I read the labels of whatever is in front of me. Shampoo bottles, toothpaste tubes, whatever is accessible.

I’ve done this for as long as I can remember, and I don’t really know exactly why. My eyes just naturally drift to whatever words are around me and I start reading.

Water, glycerin, dimethicone, patrolatum…

The list of ingredients on the labels goes on and on. They become increasingly more complicated and make me feel like I’m in high school chemistry class all over again. I can pronounce the words, but I have no idea what they mean.

I’m not sure why I was never bothered by not knowing what all these ingredients are. After all, they are going into my mouth, all over my skin, under my arms, and around my eyes. Every surface of my body is touched by these ingredients. You would think this would make me think twice about what they are.

Sadly, I have only recently decided to do some product research to find out what Methylchloroisothiazolinone is. Yeah, go ahead and say that one ten times fast. I dare you.

A long and complicated list of other ingredients are found in the items I was using every single day. Toothpaste, soap, shampoo, conditioner, deodorant, makeup, lotion. All the things.

I never imagined that personal hygiene could be dangerous. Truthfully, the opposite of hygiene seems more dangerous, and disgusting. I’ve always assumed that the products I use are safe.

It’s all a beautiful lie.

Here’s the truth that is unpopular. Our idea of hygiene is killing us. Let me say that one more time so you can really let it sink in.

OUR IDEA OF HYGIENE IS KILLING US!

We have been buying products that promise to make us clean, make us smell good, make us look pretty. What’s actually happening is that we are slowly poisoning our bodies with chemicals that were never, ever intended to touch us.

Now, before you start screaming at me and calling me a dirt haired hippy, let me just ask you a question. Would you wash your hair with the cleaning products under your kitchen sink? Would you brush your teeth with pesticides?

If you answered yes, I can’t help you. Good luck with your survival.

For everyone else, I want you to know that some of the harsh chemicals you are using to clean your house, and repel insects are the same chemicals that are common to your hygiene products. YOU PUT THESE THINGS IN YOUR MOUTH!

I’m not here to scare anyone, and I’m not telling you to overthrow the establishment either. I’m just sharing the knowledge that I’ve come to learn. Educate yourself on what is really in the items you consume. Yes, I meant to say consume. Lotion is absorbed into your skin, and a lot of makeup as well. Most of the lipstick you put on gets eaten, and a fair amount of toothpaste is absorbed into your bloodstream before you can even spit it out.

Be a wise consumer. You only get one body, and if you are a believer, it’s the temple for the Holy Spirit. Be good to it.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

