Speak

I’ve said it before, words have power. They can be the difference between the best day of your life and the most devastating moment you’ve ever experienced. It stands to reason then, that the absence of words will carry the same weight. Don’t believe me? Try sitting in the same room as someone that’s purposely ignoring you. The silence will pierce your soul.

I used to be proud of my ability to ice someone out that upset me. I would give them a hefty serving of the silent treatment and sit back with a sense of smug self-satisfaction. I’m horrified to look back at that version of myself. It’s ugly.

What I really want to focus on here though, is another little nugget of explosive power that I’ve found in the word of God. I was meeting with a woman from my church recently to discuss the possibility of joining her bible study group. As we got to know one another, we started sharing some of our struggles and encouraging one another in kind. I began to recount some amazing stories of how God has graced me with some really amazing miracles. When I was finished she said this is where I will find strength in the struggle. She said I would gather up these stories like stones to build a monument to the Glory of God.

She reminded me of Revelation 12:11 which says:

And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death. (NKJV)

BOOM! That’s power baby!

I had heard this verse before. I had even heard it in the form of a song (I’ll drop a link below), but I had NEVER stopped to think about what this actually means.

Here’s what is really happening. The enemy is out to get you. This is fact. He wants to rob you blind of everything that makes life enjoyable and meaningful. He wants to crush you. He won’t win. Not as long as we keep speaking. As long as there is breath in our lungs, we have the privilege of proclaiming the eternal glory of our creator! THIS IS WHAT DEFEATS THE ENEMY! He wants to shut you up. DO NOT LET HIM!

When you are discouraged and all you want to do is curl up in the fetal position and cry, open your mouth and SPEAK. Talk about what God has done for you. Use your words to paint a picture of how big God is! If you are too distraught to remember His goodness in your own life, then start talking about what He has done for someone else. Start with scripture. Take it all the way back to the beginning if you have to.

The point is this, when we stop speaking to the glory of God, the enemy gains ground in his pursuit to steal, kill, and destroy us. You have a choice to make. You can be silent while he ravages your entire existence, or you can be the bold woman that God designed you to be and open your mouth and speak.

I hope you choose the latter.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

