Done

In Hawaii, there is a phrase that everyone loves. Pau Hana. It means the workday is done, it’s time to relax and hang out with family and friends. Pau hana is even better on Fridays because you have the whole weekend to look forward to.

I love the idea of pau hana. It marks the end of labor and it creates an atmosphere and an expectation of rest. It is enjoying the completion of a job well done, and rewarding it. It’s a boundary that says at this moment I will not do anything that feels like work.

When I learned the meaning of this, only one thing came to mind-the finished work of Christ.

For three years, he labored in public ministry. He fed the hungry, healed the sick, raised the dead. In his final moment on the cross, He uttered that single phrase that shook heaven and earth.

“It is finished.”

Pau. Done. Over.

If Jesus is enjoying pau hana, then why am I trying so hard to save me? Why do I spend days agonizing over all the mistakes I’ve made? Why do I wonder if I’ve said too much, gone too far? Why do I work endlessly to feel good enough, or worthy enough of God’s grace?

It’s pau hana. Time to relax. Time to enjoy the closure of the job well done. Time to rest and soak in the presence of my God and ENJOY it.

Pau Hana. Work done. Time for play.

One thought on “Done

Leave a Reply

